One of the oldest towns in Siberia, Tomsk celebrated its 400th anniversary in 2004. Tomsk was founded in 1604 by decree of the Russian tsar Boris Godunov on the right bank of the river Tom at the confluence of the Tom and the Ushaika. The status of a town Tomsk obtained in 1629 and in 1643 the town burnt down. On this place a new one was built, which was a fortress, surrounded by a wooden wall with 6 towers and the diameter of about 50 sazhens. Since the end of ХIХ century Tomsk became a large scientific-enlightening center of Siberia The discovery of gold in 1830 brought further development to Tomsk in the 19th century. After the revolution of 1917 Tomsk became part of the Siberian Territory and later of the West-Siberian Territory. In 1991 Toms was granted the status of the historical town. This historic reserved part preserved the townscape originality of stone buildings of the provincial town at the end of XIX — beginning of XX centuries and of wooden buildings decorated with ancient carving. Tomsk has many local cultural institutions including drama theaters, a children’s theater and a puppet.