Omsk

Omsk was founded in 1716 as a fortress at the junction point of channels of the Irtysh and the Om rivers by Colonel Ivan Bookhgoltz, this historic fact initiated developing of Omsk — one of the oldest cities in Siberia. In 1782 the fortress settlement was given the name of a town. At the second part of the 18th century the fortress became the largest fortification at the East of the country. Construction of Trans-Siberian railway boosted the development of the city...

The fortress is the historical heart of Omsk. At present we can find here the buildings of different epochs: Catherine the Great baroque of the former guardhouse (the Regional Military Registration and Enlistment Office now) stands next to red-brick facades of the beginning of the 20thcentury buildings, severe forms of Military Assembly (House of Officers) are close to modern volumes of the Dzerzhinsky Palace of Culture. Many buildings in the fortress are connected with the name of the great Russian writer Dostoevsky.